my baby is dead

nimo, earlier this year

nimo, earlier this year

i sortof had a dog in palestine, nimo. long story, she wasn’t living with me, as i live nomadically in various people’s homes, but she was my baby, she was treated not well when she was a baby, and i was trying to find a nice home for her. meanwhile, some people at a restaurant/farmhouse hosted her, not all that enthusiastically. it wasn’t ideal, and i hoped it was temporary.

anne told today me that a few weeks ago, she apparently died. was killed, i guess, the people at the restaurant told a friend of ours (who told anne) that the neighbors poisoned her. the part about the neighbors may or may bot be true, but if she’s dead, she was probably killed, since she was just about a year old and in good health.

i am not in palestine. i came to europe for my brother’s wedding and some friends/family seeing and travelling. anne didnt tell me till now because i guess she wanted to spare me having to deal with this very fucked up reality while going through the wedding stuff or travelling, but i really really really wished she’d told me the minute she heard. i don’t think there’s any sparing someone the pain and anger over the loss of someone they love (once, my father told me weeks later that my grandfather died for similar reasons), and at least in my experience, the attempt of protection through delay just makes it all the harder to grasp reality. while i’m struggling to imagine nimo dead, nimo dying, and crying over here, i keep thinking that this is already done, her body, who knows where it was discarded and how, has already started rotting. i’m once again not in sync.

i had told some friends here about nimo, and i was really looking forward to seeing her again. i was also worried about her. there are a few things i really hate about palestine (but there are more things that i really really hate about europe, so don’t get your bias up), and one of them is that it’s a shit place for animals, especially for stray dogs. i guess just before she was poisoned/otherwise killed, a family i stay with send me an email with some encouraging news about her. i was hoping they’s send me more pictures these days.

it happened, and i cannot grasp it. she had a very strong character, she was my baby and a diva, she didn’t like not to be with me, and i didn’t like not knowing how she was, and i missed her, miss her. it feels shitty that she died, i don’t really know in what way, and i didn’t even know about it, was still telling people about her and getting excited about the next reunion.

anyways. here are pictures of her, from earlier this year and one from when she was still a baby (but not as small as on the day that i first met her :()

nimish…. :'(

nim919519_10151452924119821_885403796_o3

7645

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.